Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Students nowadays are allowed to earn their certificates or degrees through online learning without being required to attend traditional classes. While distance learning has some weaknesses, I believe it provides more benefits than drawbacks.

Opponents of getting qualifications through distance study are of the opinion that these qualifications gained are less credible than those gained from traditional classes, as students who studied online may lack the opportunities to promote vocational skills. In traditional classes, students can play a role in team sports, collaborate on group projects and share thoughts and exchange opinions, through which (they) develop various skills, consequently making their qualifications more persuasive to employers. However, opponents argue that such opportunities for cultivating cooperative skills and enhancing abilities to understand the common languages of teamwork are missed out upon in online courses, thus making students relatively less competitive in job markets. However, in my opinion, the qualifications, despite the way they are obtained, would still prove to employers that the candidates are equipped with the knowledge they are seeking.

On the other hand/conversely, the benefits of providing qualifications online are more obvious and worth mentioning. Firstly, thanks to the widespread availability of internet, distance study makes the learning process accessible to almost everyone. Students living in remote areas do not need to commute to schools to study. Part-time learners are able to further their studies after work. So online learning provides an opportunity for everyone to pursue their dreams and interests. With higher educational qualifications, graduates are more likely to find better jobs, earn higher salaries, and contribute positively to society. Secondly, online qualifications make acquiring knowledge more affordable. Universities and colleges can refrain from building more classrooms and employing more lecturers to accommodate and teach the increasing number of students, while learners can save money from commuting as well as renting a houses. Therefore, offering qualifications online creates a win-win situation for the alleviation of financial burdens for both schools and students.

To conclude, while some small concerns are linked to get (getting)qualifications online, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.