As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that whether businesses should not only focus on generating profits, but also have social obligation is still a matter of controversy. While I accept with the view that increasing profits is the top priority of businesses, I believe that they should consider their social standing in community.

In terms of economic aspect, it is apparent that maximizing profits need to be primary objective in order for any business to survive in an increasingly competitive market. By making a profit, companies are able to cover their overhead costs, such as employees’s wages and payments for buildings and utilities. There have been numerous companies which face challenge of going out business within the first five years since they have failed to produce improved profits to pay for their running costs. In addition, a profitable business would allow owners to grow their business in order to meet the changing needs of customers. For instance, by investing more in innovations and market research, not only can they remain successful, but also improve their business performance. Consequently, both customers and investors would be more attracted by their thriving.

From the perspective of social value, corporations should also consider a range of responsibilities which would help enhance their public image. Firstly, their own employees should be treated well with a “living wage” and standards of health and safety in the workplace to ensure that workers could have a good quality of life. This would increase their levels of happiness and feelings of job satisfaction, which could be seen as a motivator to boost the company’s development. Secondly, it is essential that businesses should use a proportion of their profit to support the local in order to achieve sustainable development goals. For example, their participation in local charities or environmental projects will be of great benefit to society. Finally, with transparency, companies can pay more taxes for the government through the tax system. This money can help the authorities allocate financial resource to important fields such as education and health care services, which will improve standards of living as a whole.

In conclusion, although I accept that companies need to prioritize their profitable growth, I believe that they should take actions for social objectives.