Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Is economic progress the most essential target to achieve in the road to national prosperity? A significant part of states argues that the growth of economy is of greater importance than any progressions in other spheres. While other people, however, assume economic progress to be only a part of the goal, being as important as social or political.

As for my opinion, I believe that economic progress could be the driver for the prosperity of other spheres of a state development. However, it all depends on the current level of development of a country.

On the one hand, economic progress plays a pivotal role in the prosperity of developing countries, such as Russia, China or Brazil. For example, China, that is country with the fastest development growth, becomes the one only by maintaining the economic growth with the help of introduction of factories, technologies, and proper monetary policy. As another instance, Russia once became the leading state only after some significant changes were introduced in the economic sphere, meaning that the currency policy was transformed as well as the whole budgeting system was modified.

On the other hand, the economic growth of the majority of the developed countries, the Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, you name it, is now driven by the progresses in other spheres. For example, the innovations in Sweden medicine correspond to the greatest part in the GDP of the country. The hi-tech development for the USA, as well as for Singapore, is the main factor of growth now, meaning that prosperity of these countries and their growth is fully driven by technology and innovation and not the economy itself. Moreover, Milan, being the oasis of fashion and beauty, is a progressive city now thanks to growth in these spheres.

Summarizing the aforementioned examples, I can conclude that both economic progress and developments in other spheres could be equally essential for the prosperity of a state. Nevertheless, one sphere or another could stand out in different stages of a country’s development.