Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the past few decades, there has been considerable debate about the way we should follow to improve a country's situation. For many governments, a thriving economy is undoubtedly the most crucial goal which needs to be pursued at all costs. However, many people suggest that we should also take other aspects into consideration, as all of them share equal importance in the development of a nation. This essay will look into both sides of the argument, and point out why I side with the latter view.

To begin with, economic progress is apparently one of the most decisive factors contributing to the overall status of a country. Since many other fields require money as their fundament, a country will gain various benefits if its economy reaches a certain level of development. In simpler terms, it acts as a stepping stone to further improvements that governments aim to achieve, such as upgrading the infrastructure or importing necessary technologies. What is more, economic progress also means that the standards of living in that country are likely to raise, ensuring a better life quality for its citizens.

Turning to the other side of the argument, it is reasonable to say that there are also many other types of progress that lead to the development of a country. First of all, education, for example, plays an irreplaceable role since it will exert an enormous impact on other fields since an educated workforce has a tendency to greatly boost the rate of growth in the corresponding sector in which they work. A good illustration is that doctors who are properly educated with all the necessary knowledge and have the mastery of applying them will definitely improve the efficiency of hospitals and other medical facilities. Furthermore, if a country's policy is too focused on a certain sector, then the balance between different areas will be broken, resulting in some unexpected drawbacks.

In conclusion, despite some benefits of concentrating on economic progress, I hold the belief that equally developing all other aspects will be a better approach. If a country carefully judges its situation and puts equal efforts into every sector, it will definitely thrive and achieve more accomplishments in the future.