Government is supposed to benefit the public and work as an administration department. The main goal of its work contains both economic progress and other types of progress such as city construction and health-care. As far as I concern, other aims are equally important as economic progress.

As the figure for GDP stands for something, many people believe that the most important goal is to make economic progress. Obviously, a city under good economic status is likely to offer a better life to citizens. However, I would rather take the other opinion because there are more things to care about besides economic development. Our happiness does not depend on money only, and it is determined by many invisible conditions that we can feel every day. If a government gains great economic progress, the improvement can reflect on its report but may not work on citizens. What is more, the quality of life will not be secured under a poor health-care system. On the opposite, if citizens do not need to worry about the environment, health and housing, then money does not seem so useful to them.

Clinton, the ex-president of America, once said that the figure of economic progress cannot represent happiness. Breathing fresh air arises our sense of happiness, and receiving high quality education enhances our sense of happiness, so will enjoying good foods do. These feelings could not be replaced by increasing economic figures. After all, we live in a world measured not only in economic method.

All in all, government should stress on offering good lives rather than improving economic status only. There are more things beyond money that matter to life.