Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how governments measure their countries’ progress. While it is argued that economic progress is essential, I myself believe that other measures of progress are equally important.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why economic growth is a fundamental goal of countries. Firstly, if a country’s economy is healthy, it will create more jobs and a high level of employment, and better salaries, which will improve living standards for citizens. Another benefit of economic progress bringing is the government will have more money to invest in infrastructure and public services. For example, with higher revenues, the state is more likely to upgrade transport networks, education system and hospital, which provides citizens with better social welfare. Last but not least, a strong economy can help a country’s standing on the global stage related to political influence and trading power.

On the other hand, various other forms of progress like social justice, human rights, equality and democracy are as tremendous as the economic factor. For example, the fact that the treatment of minority groups, free education, and quality public healthcare systems are improved might reflect the moral standards and level of developments of a society. Another key consideration could be environmental protection. In fact, to measure how much a country develops is observing how much it is environmentally conscious. Besides, the health, well-being and happiness are other factors which can measure whether a country is strong or not.

In conclusion, although economic progress is considered as an important factor in a country’s success, other factors are equally important.