Many high school students take part time jobs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? Study Sample

Among many cultures, adolescents are encouraged to work part time. But this is a phenomenon that is not universally encouraged, as many people feel such an arrangement has drawbacks. This essay will look at the advantages and disadvantages associated with working high school students.

On the one hand, students who work part time gain business exposure and learn to handle money. For example, companies like McDonald's often hire high school students to work their front cash registers. For these young adults, they are learning both how to deal with people in a professional way and how to perform monetary transactions. As these sorts of hands on abilities are not taught in schools, it is clear that several advantages derive from students working part time.

However, on the other hand, students who choose to work during their high school years spend time away from their studies and may be exposed to dangerous situations. For instance, I remember as a student once working in a restaurant in an underdeveloped party of my city. The clientele often had serious personal problems, such as drug and alcohol addiction. To make matters worse, I worked so many weekly hours at this restaurant that my school grades started to suffer. As this experience shows, there are several disadvantages that can befall working students.

Following this look, it can be concluded that part time work among students should be engaged on a case-by-case basis. So long as a working arrangement does not infringe upon a student's safety or their grades, it is recommended that part time work be pursued by all adolescent people.