More and more people are forgetting the actual meaning of occasions (e.g. national festivals). What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions do you suggest? Study Sample

Traditionally, festivals were thrown to commemorate an occasion or an individual. However, in the modern world, often people fail to recollect the actual meaning behind these celebrated days. It is argued that the main causes of this are the lack of reminders people receive in their day-to-day lives and the decreasing level of relevance certain holidays have to the lifestyles of many in the modern world. To tackle these issues, internet and television related solutions will be analyzed for viability.

Firstly, it is felt that website landing pages could help people remember the historical context behind celebrated occasions. For example, Google often alters the logo of its landing page to remind people of culturally meaningful days. Without reminders such as this, it is easy to see hoe the significance of holidays could diminish over the course of time. Thus, the effectiveness of this suggested solution can be seen.

However to address the issue of relevance, it is suggested that governments sponsor infomercials taht dramatize the historical events that led to the establishment of a country's holiday. For example in Canada most nationally syndicated television stations run a brief series entitled, “A part of our heritage”. These short excerpts have helped millions of Canadians understand the importance of recognizing certain holidays, such us Canadian Multiculturalism Day and Queen Victoria's birthday, which otherwise might be neglected. As this shows, informercials can be a very effective way to help people better see the meaningfulness of their neational holidays.

It is felt website landing pages and dramatized history informercials could do a lot to help people understand the relevance behind the holidays they celebrate. It is thus hoped these strategies are put into place everywhere to stimulate historical comprehension.