Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes some health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar

Do you agree or disagree?

It is confirmed that ready food and drinks include a high proportion of sugar, which can result in various health hazards. Although some claim that should drive up sugary products’ prices to motivate people to consume less sugar, I maintain the opinion that they should find alternatives to deal with this problem.

On the one hand, the idea of boosting prices for less consumption of sugar is beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, eating products that have a large amount of sugar excessively can threaten people’s well-being, particularly diabetes, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases. Children, if they consume too much junk food, soft drinks, or candies, might cope with tooth decay. Therefore, increasing the prices of those products could reduce the rate of people having these mentioned health problems. Due to the higher prices, the number of people who can afford them can be decreased, they are more likely to avoid unhealthy diets and are willing to obtain healthy eating habits which can strengthen their physical and mental health.

Despite the above-mentioned ideas, I believe that instead of rising sugar product prices, people should work out other measures. Eating sweet food could bring about happiness and provide energy for people, it’s also an efficient tool to appease children when they become annoyed or disobey. As a result of growing prices, there is a wide range of people do not want to buy them regularly, this can lead children to be more stubborn and lose their childhood joy. From my point of view, people should heighten awareness about the characteristics of the products and the consequences of consuming too many sugary products in order to manage their rations.

In conclusion, while people believe that sugar might contribute to health issues and these products need to be risen in price to guide people to slighter sugar consumption and stay healthier, it seems to me that ones should be well aware of the level of sugar they eat in each meal instead of increase the prices.