Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why this is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to this place?

It is widely recognized that the dominance of visitors to heritage sites are tourists, while the indigenous pay no attention to these places. This essay will first outline the underlying reasons for this phenomenon before suggesting what can be done to encourage local residents to visit these locations.

The lower visiting of native people is largely attributed to the familiarity and the lack of monuments’ novelty. As far as the former is concerned, people are more interested in acquiring knowledge about other cultures and history rather than their own because they believe they are already familiar with their customs. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that many citizens residing in Hanoi said that they have never stepped foot in Ho Chi Minh’s mausoleum more than one time. With regard to the latter, nothing new is added to these sites over years, so local inhabitants do not wish to discover the same museum repeatedly. Instead, numerous native people prefer to spend their free time enjoying modern entertainment such as cinemas or shopping malls.

In order to attract more local citizens to these historical monuments, the following steps should be taken. First, local schools should improve the way they teach history. If there is a more interesting teaching method, the schools can stimulate students to take part in visiting local museums. This measure should be executed in tandem with that the local government continually upgrade heritage sites to arouse more interest from natives. To illustrate, the authority should display and promote more often different exhibitions, which focus on various aspects of the culture. Such a two-pronged approach could go a long way towards promoting ancient sites to indigenous people.

In a nutshell, what seems to be at the core of attracting native residents to historical sites in their areas is the familiarity and the lack of innovation. For this reason, the educational institutions should build more creative lectures for children and the government should conduct more fascinating events at these places for local civilians.