When people live in a foreign country, they should follow local traditions and customs. Do you agree or not?

In light of the mounting importance of cultural integration in the era of globalization, the question of how national cultural identity can be preserved has been a topic of public interest lately. One common proposal that many people, myself included, advocated is that foreigners visiting the nation should adhere indigenous customs.

Opponents of adhering to local culture often cite the fact that national identity, which should not be altered by the environment, is of paramount importance to each citizen. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in cultural integration, as evidenced by the fact that several oversea tourists without knowledge about native culture when traveling to a foreign country have to face many challenges. That being the case, they may unintentionally commit acts that break the nation’s law. This is why we need to follow regional traditions to avoid unexpected circumstances.

What is more, the insight of indigenous customs not only creates memorable experiences but also is a method that helps us improve our communication skills with international friends. Through these interactions, we also can propagate our country’s traditional culture to others. Therefore, if we ignore the nation’s traditions, not only will opportunities for cultural exchange be restricted but the image of our country will also be adversely affected. This can be seen in that it is rude if you preempt when shopping in Japan, making your country’s reputation worse in Japanese’s eyes.This is a testament to the importance of conforming regional norms.

In a nutshell, I strongly support the belief that it is essential to respect the native culture when traveling abroad, considering the significant contributions that promote cross-cultural interaction.