Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and why can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that tourists from many parts of the world pay more visits to museums and historical places than local inhabitants. There are many reasons for this, but this situation should be addressed by attracting locals in some practical ways.

There are two main reasons why museums and historical sites are preferred more by tourists than by local residents. One reason is that museums are too familiar to the locals. If museums do not change anything, there will be nothing new for locals to discover. Like eating the same dish every single day, they feel bored with visiting the same places. Furthermore, entrance tickets at some historical sites are expensive for the local inhabitants to afford. For example, in Dien Bien, a province in northwestern Vietnam, it is rather hard for the residents to make ends meet, let alone to spend money on visiting some famous historical attractions there.

The government should take some measures to tackle this issue effectively. Firstly, museums ought to be invested in more by the authorities to refresh the exhibits. The fresher the exhibitions are, the more local residents will be interested in them. Secondly, historical relics need to be free for all the local people. Without worrying about additional expenditures, residents will pay more to visit historical sites in order to broaden their knowledge about their home towns.

In conclusion, there are some known reasons for this trend. However, something should be done by the authorities to attract more visitors from the local ares.