Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited bay tourists but not local people.

Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

As a matter of fact, residents do rarely have a visit museums and historical sites in their areas. There are some reason for this situation and a range of effective solutions are needed to bring them to these places.

Museums and historical sites are not considered as favourite destinations for local inhabitants due to two primary reasons. The first reason is that people are too familiar with these places. Although exhibitions in museums often change over the time, these are quite little various and frequent enough to attract nearby residents. In the same situation, almost people have knowledge about the historical sites in their region when they have visited these sites on the first time and they tend to find more attractive sites to broaden their mind in historic field. The second is that people have been surrounded by more and more interesting activities, have been renewed regularly and can catch up with the hottest trends all over the world, rather than visiting no-new destinations.

Attracting nearby residents to museums and historic sites requires a range of complex and creative solutions of authorities relatively which are difficult to present in space of a short document. However, there are some simple methods which should be implemented in priority. Firstly, the exhibitions in museums should be refreshed more regularly with more various items which either relate to living of local people or adhere to the development of their area. Secondly, essential social events of the region should be organized at historical sites in order to connect previous time to modern life as a flow of history.

To conclude, it is clear that people will visit museums and historic sites in their region when they are attracted by activities hold in there places. This will become reality with effective solutions.