Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of vertical city.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Many people wonder what kind of city is better to settle down, horizontal or vertical city. Although both living in a skyscraper metropolis and settling in a horizontal city has the own unique advantages and disadvantages, I believe a horizontal city offer a better quality of life for its residents.

Living in a vertical city has some advantages and drawbacks. The convenience with variety of goods and services is one of the most significant benefits. There are many services provided in skyscrapers in the way which residents can reach easily. Moreover, the demand of daily necessaries is satisfied simply because of convenient stores and supermarket systems which are very common in a city with high population. The number of population itself is a drawback of a vertical city. A metropolis with skyscrapers, tall buildings usually have high population density. This is one of the components which lead to environmental problems in urban.

On the other hand, I think horizontal cities are worthier of living event though these cities have their own strengths and weaknesses, too. Low-level constructions, popular in the kind of city, allow the owners connect with their neighbours or the community in neighbourhood closely and frequently. Thus, inhabitants can enlarge their social network, know and help each other better when they are in difficulty. In addition, with the same area, horizontal cities usually have lower population, compared with vertical cities. This leads to the belief that the quality of air and environment in horizontal cities is more positive. However, lower population density is also the weaknesses of the cities. There are not a wide range of goods and services for residents living here because the market of these cities is not potential enough in the eyes of providers.

In conclusion, while living in a horizontal city or a vertical city brings many experiences, including positive and negative, it seems to me that horizontal cities is the better choice.