Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that museums and historical places often attract visitors rather than local residents. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and some solutions should be adopted by the government and individuals to improve the situation.

In the first place, it is vital to analyze why tourists from different regions of the world prefer visiting the museums and historical sites to local inhabitants. It can hardly be denied that the first main contributing factor might be that individuals find visiting museums not interesting since they are acquainted with the local citizens. As a result, people have a tendency to travel abroad to experience new customs and cultures. Also, another root reason is that entrance tickets are expensive for the locals to purchase. Consequently, they may have little or no interest in studying their historical culture.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken into full consideration to prevent this problem. The first solution would be that government should renovate the exhibits according to both education and entertainment purposes to increase the number of local visitors and then launch a wide advertisement campaign to promote their stunning landscapes on television or the Internet. This also encourages more local residents to understand the uniqueness of these locations. A second measure would be that the local authorities can lessen or give free tickets to local people on a special occasion to enhance their enthusiasm.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons why local inhabitants do not visit local museums and historical sites, and steps need to be taken to attract more visitors from the local areas.