Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people.

Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In this day and age, it is globally believed that historically related places are being visited only by foreign people instead of the local ones. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and offer some possible solutions to the problems.

To commence with, there are several reasons why museums and historical sites are being in favor of by the foreigners than the local people. The first reason is because of the cost of the entrance tickets. Since the main goal of some historical sites would be attracting the people from all over the world, so the entrance tickets could cost expensively and unaffordably to the local inhabitants. A typical example of this is that the tickets for visiting the Monkey Island in Nha Trang cost up to nearly 200 thousand dongs per adult, not transporting fee included, which is a bit costly to the Vietnamese people. Another reason is that museums are truthfully too familiar to nearby inhabitants, therefore they might to be not interested in these places. This is because most of people could have a tendency to visit some famous places which are far from their home as not only would they have a trip but they also could improve their own knowledge.

In addition to the above analysis, there are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. First of all, historical relics need to be free for all the local people. If the local residents are given chances to come to historical places freely, the number of visitors must increase. Therefore, the popularity of these places could also improved. Another solution is that museums ought to be invested in more by the authorities to refresh the exhibits. Since the museums are refreshed yearly, local people could have a tendency to come there at least one time in a year to figure out which has been changed.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the thinking that museums and historicals are mainly travelled to by the foreigners instead of the local residents, and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.