Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than locals people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In today’s world, the majority of people who visit museums and historical sites are foreign tourists instead of locals. In this essay, an attempt will be made to explain the factors which have contributed to this problem, and also put forward solutions on how to entice locals to visit museums and historical sites more often.

The most frequent cause for this issue is the little interests in historical sites from local residents. This is because they find it unnecessary to visit these places another time after already visiting in the past. Moreover, the information about these locations or historical samples can be easily searched on the Internet. Therefore, domestic tourists do not prefer dropping into this type of site. Another reason which is responsible for this phenomenon is that the foreigners are curious about the history of other countries. As a result, they usually decide to visit museums or historical locations when going abroad. This is shown by the following example. When being asked about which places to go to, a Canadian boy selected Quang Ninh museums to learn about Vietnamese history. Meanwhile, the Vietnamese chose a theme park because of feeling boring when visiting museums which he had known about.

The authorities must take actions to tackle this problem. They should encourage domestic tourists to visit historical sites more often by offering them some discount. This is because the cheaper the cost of an excursion is, more people will participate in it. In addition, schools should organize some visiting tours as extracurricular activities for students. If authorities and schools do not take measures soon, this problem will not be improved.

In conclusion, there are indeed various issue regarding this phenomenon, yet, they can be solved by these aforementioned measures.