More people now buy products that they do not need because they are persuaded by advertising. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether or not advertising is convincing people to buy commodities which are not needed remains a much-debated question. To the best of my knowledge, I totally agree with this statement.

First and foremost, people cannot resist the temptation of discounted products. To put it in another way, nowadays it is common to see that many people decide to buy an item because of its cheap price, although they do not actually require this. This is shown by the following example. When being interviewed, a woman who bought two sets of cosmetics in a discount period said that period was the best chance to buy commodities with lower prices even when you do not need them because you could put them aside for the future. Therefore, obviously advertising by lowering the prices make people buy goods which are out of their need.

Furthermore, advertising always catches the attraction of the consumer by organizing many promotional campaigns which are normally called “give away”. To clarify, when buying products during this period, clients are able to purchase some merchandises which are accompanied by some presents such as: but 1 get 1 or buy 1 get 2 and so on. Hence, more people charge for these possessions to receive the presents without taking into consideration of their unnecessity. Take my sister as an example, she bought five similar T-shirts in order to get a giveaway sports shoes in a sale promotion activity. Hence, this is a tricky way of advertisement to encourage customers to purchase.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that people are persuaded to buy unnecessary items by various advertising strategies, which typically are reducing the prices and offering extra items when people buy their products