Some people argue job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others believe a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, there is a public debate related to job satisfaction and job security. Some people are of the view that job satisfaction is more essential than job security. In the meantime, others share the view that the permanence of the job is more integral compared to job satisfaction. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

To begin with, some people advocate that job satisfaction is more important than job security. The most frequent factor contributing to this view is that life turns meaningless once no job satisfaction is obtained. This is demonstrated by the following examples. According to a Near researcher in 1984, job satisfaction is a component of life satisfaction, job satisfaction predicts life satisfaction over the same period of time. Moreover, Diener and Tay in 2012 illustrated that job satisfaction is a key indicator of workers’ well-being. For these reasons, job satisfaction is more necessary in comparison with job security because of its influence on life quality.

On the other hand, some people argue that job security is more essential than job satisfaction. One explanation to support this view is that in this day and age, people all over the world have to face up with the risk of losing their jobs due to the outbreak of infectious diseases. According to the USA Today, in COVID-19 situation, there were 20.6 million job losses IEL, meaning 18 million are expected to be temporary when the pandemic recedes. In fact, there is no guarantee for citizens about their work after COVID-19 disease period. Therefore, it is apparent that in this case, a permanent job is more vital than job satisfaction.

Take everything into consideration, it may be concluded that both job satisfaction and job security bring their particular benefits which cannot be denied. However, from my perspective, I am of the view that job security is more imperative compared to job satisfaction because of its actual need in the infectious disease situation.