Many people believe that it’s better to learn something in a group rather than individually. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is a public debate about the way to learn something. It is believed that learning in a group is better than individual learning. From my perspective, I am utterly convinced that learning in a group is better.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that this method can increase the quality of information absorbed by students. In fact, some studies in this field suggest that group assignments do indeed directly improve an individual ability to learn and perform. “Socially shared cognition” and “transactive memory” are some of the loftier terms used to describe groups working together. It makes sense that information discussed and delivered by friends and colleagues will be more salient than the same information intake by oneself. For this reason, it is obvious that learning in a group is better to acquire the information.

In addition, one explanation to support this statement is that students can learn the good sides of others during the time working together. Take myself as an example. Last month, I participated in a group project to accomplish the slides about strategies to get a high mark in studying. Because of the influence of other members in the group by their behaviours, I have changed my lifestyle and become more self-disciplined as well as punctual than before. As this example reveals, studying in a group is a good way for students rather than alone studying.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that there are many merits of studying in a group, which individual learning cannot bring, making this method be better than alone learning. Therefore, I totally agree with this claim.