Some people believe in the era of e-technology, printing newspapers and magazines will cease to occur in the near future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about newspapers and magazines. Controversy exists as to due to the emergence of modern technologies whether printing newspapers and magazines will be stopped in the future. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced that this type of media will disappear in the future.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that newspapers are a reliable resource, which provides people with exact information. This is shown by the following example. In Vietnam, the contents of a newspaper are always inspected seriously by many organizations prior to being printed out. Besides, there are also many rigorous laws issued by the government to ensure the precise news being printed. Meanwhile, the resources of information on other media are not controlled in a strict way. Therefore, in this case, newspapers and magazines are better than other modern technologies.

In addition, one explanation to support this view is that people in some particular areas cannot connect the Internet to gain news through technologies. In fact, in Eritrea, Internet access is all government-controlled and less than 1% of the total population reportedly go online. All non-government controlled media is banned, independent news websites have been long since shut down. As a result, people in this area still need newspapers, as well as magazines, to update news. For this reason, printing newspapers and magazines are not stopped in this day and age.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that despite the popularity of modern technologies, newspapers and magazines are still necessary to some extent, especially accurate information and its approach