Because of modern technology it is no longer necessary for people to learn handwriting skills but others believe that handwriting is still an important skill Discuss both views and give our opinion

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about practised skills in daily life. When this issue comes into views, there exist many conflicting opinions. Some people share the view that due to the emergence of modern technologies, there is no need to learn handwriting skills. Meanwhile, others are of the view that this type of skill is important. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

To begin with, some people advocate that skills regarding modern technologies can help us save the time used for handwriting skills. This is shown by the following example. The fact is that 95% of texts will be read within 3 minutes of being sent, with the average responding time for a text being a mere 90 seconds. While using handwriting skill for this purpose such as using letters can take several hours even, several days to receive and reply, which is relatively time-consuming. Therefore, it is obvious that keyboarding or other skills related to modern technology is more essential than handwriting skills in this day and age.

On the other hand, sticking with a pen and paper has some serious benefits. In fact, writing by hand appears to improve our ability to remember things, meaning even in today’s tech-obsessed society, the pen just might be mightier than Words app. In reality, studies in this field conducted by University of Melbourne’s Science showed that in a lecture people cannot possibly write everything heard, they have to write in a style that allows them to maximize information from minimum output. That means the brain has to select suitable information actively, which can boost memory. Meanwhile, using Words, people tend to type everything they heard from the speaker without choosing. As this example shows, in some specific cases, handwriting skills are better than skills relying on modern technology.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that both writing by hand or writing by using technology can bring many particular benefits. However, from my perspective, handwriting is more integrated compared to technology because of its memory encouragement