Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. Do you agree or disagree? Give your reasons and examples according to your knowledge and experience.

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about

public celebrations. It is acknowledged that the expense to celebrate these events is really costly. Therefore, controversy exists as to whether the government should pay for these activities or they should spend money on other useful things. From my point of view, I am utterly convinced that the government should invest in other important issues rather than these activities.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this opinion is that the cost to organize and prepare for national activities is really costly. This is shown by the following example. In Singapore, the government spent a large sum of money to prepare for the National Day Parade. In particular, this expense was up to $39.4 million in 2016. Therefore, national events require a large amount of money spent on which should be used to deal with many more important issues.

In addition, another reason to support this view is that healthcare, which is a heated problem in this day and age, is much more essential in comparison with nationwide days. In fact, people are living under the pressure of the outbreak of Covid-19 disease, spending money on healthcare system to prevent and cure this disease is undisputed. One example to demonstrate this point is that government in Singapore have tripled their healthcare expenditure from $4billion to about $12 billion in 2020 to cope with Coronavirus and limit the number of people who are positive with this kind of virus. However, this figure still increases day by day. Consequently, healthcare should receive more funds to improve public health instead of nationwide festivals.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that fund from government should be used for many necessitous problems, especially healthcare, instead of national days which are extremely expensive.