Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. Do you agree or disagree?

there are many different views about many countries use too much public expenditure on national occasions. While I agree this activity is necessary and therefore can be considered and acceptable, I also believe governments and individuals are spending a significant amount of money on those celebrations.

There are several reasons why countries should hold public celebrations. This is a great way to preserve the culture of a nation. To illustrate, lunar new year is an important part of Vietnamese culture Many activities will be took place during the celebration in order to remember heroes who had contributed to nation’s peace. Holding celebrations for these occasions is necessary to remind the younger generations of this tradition. Secondly, this is also an occasion for people to gather and reunion and show their unite spirits. Since these occasions are usually the only times for family members to have time and enjoy together, it is understandable that people want to spend money on what makes them happy.

However, it is wrong to reject the argument in favor of reducing money spend on celebrations. First of all, take place these celebrations activities might take a proportion of national budget money. For example, much money is being paid for fireworks on new year’s eve in many countries around the world. National budgets cannot have ability to afford all of these expense. Emergence problems like education, unemployment and other problems will not be solved. So instead of pouring money too much on spirit activities, the government should also more concern about other problems and consider cautiously.

In conclusion, it is ludicrous to compare spending on celebrations and other issues like education and unemployment because they are equally important.