Many museums and historical sites are not visited by local people.

What are the causes of this and what can be done about it?

Museums and historical places are always great sources for people to learn about history and culture. However, compared with foreign visitors, only a minority of local individuals come to these places. Personally, I suppose that there are several reasons leading to this situation and also many solutions can be taken to encourage locals to visit such places.

To begin with, two main causes driving locals not to visit museums and historical places are tediousness and financial problems. First of all, these places always keep the same design, layout and artifacts which are extremely familiar with local people. Therefore, they may suppose museums definitely do not have any new or better knowledge that can be explored. Furthermore, visitors commonly have to pay for entry and the price depends on regulation of authorities, which is possibly not appropriate with the budget of local citizens. For instance, one ticket for an adult to visit art museums costs up to 200,000 VND and the artworks are kept the same all time. Hence, local people will visit just only one time and not have intention to come back.

For these two causes, I personally suggest these measures that authorities can take to encourage local citizens to visit museums and historical sites more frequently. Firstly, mentioning the interest of people, the council should not only rearrange the layout of the exhibition hall but also add in innovative points to attract visitors. Additionally, a tour guide should be assigned as free service in order to explain more well-defined historic monuments and culture for visitors. Secondly, authorities should enact a policy to offer free tickets as a financial assistance to encourage local people to go to these places.

In conclusion, the historical places and museums are the heritage of every particular country. The government can motivate locals to visit by conducting interesting programs and by offering free or subsidized entry.