Many museums and historical sites are not visited by local people.

What are the causes of this and what can be done about it?

It is obvious that many local people seem to be not interested in museums and historical sites. In this essay, I will explain the causes of this condition and give some solutions to tackle it.

There are many causes that can be attributed to this phenomenon. First of all, they are already familiar with their culture and history and perhaps have nothing new to discover when visiting the same museum repeatedly. The artifacts, relics, paintings, or other things that display in the museums are unchanged for a long time, which makes them become boring. If there is nothing new for local inhabitants to discover, they tend to travel to other places to experience new cultures, architecture, and artworks. Another reason is museums and historical sites charge an entry fee, which could be the major factor that discourages the local people. If a person visited it once, they would avoid visiting it again because nobody wants to pay again to watch the same artwork. Besides, families struggling to pay for essential items, the entrance fee can become a barrier and a trip to the museum is not going to be a priority.

Nevertheless, several solutions to solve this problem. To begin with, the government should invest more money to refurbish and improve the quality of the display to accommodate the needs of visitors. Not only do theme exhibits be arranged in periodically changing permutations, but also arts exchanges should also be done among different museums to breathe new life into the displays. Furthermore, museums and the historical site should provide free access. If museums charge for entry, this will inevitably deter many potential visitors, especially the poor and those whose educational and cultural opportunities have already been limited.

In conclusion, museums and historical sites are less attractive to local residents because they are too familiar with these places. Therefore, the government should take some steps to tackle this issue like renovating periodically or freeing the entrance fee.