Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment , why is this happening and what are the measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

People tend to question why prisoners aim to enter prison again after their first punishment. There are many reasons to entering prison again. The prisoner might be psychologically unstable or poor that he can’t afford shelter, food, and water. The solution is simply providing some service and care.

To begin with, psychological instability causes people to behave like unconsciously thus making them act irrationally leading themselves to prison. For example, a person who suffers from kleptomania, which is a person who can’t stop the urge to steal, will keep on stealing none stop until he or she gets cured. Furthermore, prison provides shelter, food, and water for free resulting in prisoners either entering in the first place or entering again. For instance, a beggar with no shelter and necessities will commit a simple crime simply to live with no cost. If you were a beggar with no money wouldn’t you do anything to survive?

Therefore, the solution is supplying the prisoners some medication and care to also avoid harming others. For example, in the psychological illness they could go and get cured from the illness instead of going to prison in the first place. In addition, the government would want to provide food and water with no return for beggars not to starve.

To sum up, people are suffering from certain problems and it is the reason of their entry to prison. If the government simply provided medication for the ill and some basic necessities for the poor these prisoners wouldn’t have entered prison in the first place.