Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is believed by many people that ancient buildings which are ruled to protect by the law has to diminished and replaced with the new ones. This issue will cite significant factors of why society should maintain the structures, however, I strongly disagree of this issue which will be elaborated in the forthcoming paragraph.

To begin with, preserving national-heritage buildings will simbolise valuable national historic landmark experiencing how ancestors demonstrated past life as those have firmly stood and witnessed the changes of civilization. In spite of knocking them down, this is to prevent modern era invading its historical value. Furthermore, the unique architertural design is more likely to be beneficial for tourism attraction. Gedung Sate built before Indonesia independence’s day, to illustrate, is well-known for the skewer ornament on its top which attract either domestic or international tourist over the years.

Conversely, it seems to me that supporting its existence shows the drawbacks which the cost big money. As a matter of fact, not only the brick and construction used is vulnerable, but also the unique design requires special maintenance whose cost can be used for other national urgencies (health and poverty). In addition, the imbalance of growing population and the availability of land space to provide proper housing will be main consideration. By demolishing abandoned historical places, the authorities can function its land to build residential home for the homeless or poor society.

In conclusion, maintaining the ancient building preserved by government can bring merits, including preserving national iconic buildings and attracting worldwide tourists from every nations. While I believe a state fund could also be equally distributed to other national issues as well as public needs.