Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful, while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Urban design is a multidimensional enterprise considering to various aspects. Some people think that city’s function takes more precedence while others feel that it should be aesthetically designed. This view appears on both sides of arguments which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, objectors of creating beautiful city debate that mitigating causalities from various disasters becomes the crucial factor in city development. Considering that, when the city appearance is the main focus rather than geographical and topographical surveys, residents are threatened by the collapse of building. After the devastating earthquake, 80% Japan’s constructions implement earthquake-resistant buildings. Furthermore, in terms of daily mobile activities, the major needs of city dwellers should be supported by the state service buildings and business headquarters. If the administrative and commercial sectors are separated, individuals will be difficult to administer their legal permission or credential data files.

On the other hand, exponents of this view state that this recommendation can attract worldwide tourist to escalate socio-economy aspect. Turning city into a tourism destination makes a better country revenue and raises people’s awareness advancing this area. For instance, Paris, the wonderful city destination, receives regional income approximately $300 USD. Moreover, recreational area can be presented by picturesque city providing comfortable and relaxing places of living. Aside from increased life pleasure, this helps society relieving their stress from work pressure and imbalance life. Through Biophilic (natural space-connected human) design, Changi Airport demonstrates great control and effectiveness in encouraging well-being.

Overall, it seems to me that developing aesthetic city brings more positives impacts including to generate income-related tourism attraction and to ensure the ideal public space. This is as long urban planning is validated to be well-design of resistance and resilience in the long-term.