Many parents believe that children should play team sports like football, basketball and so on, instead of individuals sports, such as swimming or running, during the school scheduled timetable. Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is thought by many parents that children should only play team sports during different schools' activities rather than individual sports. Personally, I believe that these types of sports should be played by school children because both have positive impact in their lives, and therefore, I disagree with the statement.

It is important that boys and girls should engage to team sports because it will help them develop their ability to work with others. Sports played in groups allow children to do their roles in order to achieve the common goal, which is to win against the opponents. This kind of sport also prepares them in adult life because later on when they will have jobs they need to work with other people as a team. For example, in basketball, this game teaches children to coordinate with one another on how to shoot the ball to earn points in order to win. This scenario is the same when they will be employed in a company where they need to work and discuss things with their colleagues especially when they are assigned to do a collaborative project.

The main reason why individual sports should be part of schools' timetable is that , it fosters self-discipline. This is to say that children will learn how to come on time during their training and adhere to it strictly because they know that this will help them become good and competent. This attitude, when developed by school age will have a huge impact on their overall performance in school. For instance, a recent study conducted by the Department of Education in the Philippines revealed that when they incorporated individual sports as part of a school program, there was a dramatic decrease of reported tardiness and childrens' academic performance improved.

In conclusion, while parents believe that their offsprings should engaged to team sports rather than sports played individually during schools' activities, I disagree with this idea because, in my opinion, both kinds of sports are beneficial.