Many parents think that it is good to help children in their homework, but others think parents should not do that and it is their own duty. Discuss both and give your opinion.

Parental involvement is considered by some to be beneficial when it comes to children's homework. Nevertheless, others argue that this is detrimental to the children's education and they are the ones responsible for doing their homework on their own. In my opinion, helping youngsters with their homework is useful to a certain degree, as long as it is not something to do on a regular basis.

On the one hand, most children do not perform well in all the subjects. They might find it unattainable to grasp every single piece of information taught in the class. Furthermore, some teachers employ old-fashioned teaching methods which can be inappropriate for the pupils' age. Lack of interest in certain subjects is also likely to contribute to the youngster's state of bewilderment. All these can make the children feel incapable of doing his or her homework. In this case, the child is bound to ask his parents for assistance, which is perfectly understandable. Most parents are aware of the many requirements that the school teachers have because they were also students at some point in time. Thereby, they empathize with their child and consider that helping them with their homework will only improve the situation and will not cause any harm.

On the other hand, the teaching approach has changed significantly over the last period of time. Consequently, parents' knowledge and solving methods might not correspond to the way subjects are taught today. Helping the children with their homework could get them even more confused. Parents should support children to ask their teachers or classmates questions at school in case they did not understand something related to a particular lesson. Children need to become rather independent so as to solve whatever problem they encounter not only at school, but in life.

To conclude, I have mixed feelings on the matter in question. I strongly believe that children have to pay as much attention as they can during the classes, considering that homework is usually based on what it was taught at school in that day. With regard to the parents, they will ensure that the teaching methods they employ, when helping their child doing his or her homework, are according to those at school, if they want to be helpful