Some people say that health care and education should be the responsibility of the government but others think that it is the responsibility of the individuals themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally believed that the government has the duty to deal with the healthcare and education systems. Nevertheless, some people argue that the population is also partly responsible for the matter in question. In my opinion, I think that healthcare and education should preoccupy both the government and the individuals themselves.

On the one hand, the population pays considerable taxes to the government. Hence, people are entitled to expect the government to allocate some of the money they pay to the healthcare and education systems. The government should ensure that the hospitals and the educational institutions are managed properly and they offer the best facilities. Furthermore, the people in charge should provide education and healthcare also to the people dwelling in remote areas or in poverty, who do not afford to pay for these expenses. It is in the benefit of the government and the country to invest money in these two sectors. A healthy and educated population will certainly increase the labour force participation rate. Consequently, the economic situation of the country is likely to improve as well.

On the other hand, people have to be aware themselves of the importance of healthcare and education in their lives. Being healthy and educated definitely contributes to one's overall welfare. The individuals should show willingness to receive education and maintain a healthy lifestyle. For example, some people neglect basic hygiene rules, such as regular hand washing. In their daily activities they are prone to get different germs that will not affect only their own health but also the people's health who surround them, in case the germs spread. The population needs to know that quality education will give them the advantage and the likelihood to get a well-paid and highly-regarded job.

To conclude, I strongly believe that healthcare and education are vital sectors of a country, which concern not only the government, but the individuals as well.