Many parts of the world are losing important natural resources, such as forests, animals, or clear water. Choose one resource that is disappearing and explain why it needs to be saved. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, with the rapid growth of population and industrialisation, our natural resources are getting overexploited, and among all, forests are the most threatened. Every year hundreds and thousands of acres of forest are being cut down to satisfy human needs, and this has resulted in various ecological problems. So it is crucial to save these forests from disappearing.

First of all, forests provide shelter and food for all the animals and people who live in it, but today with the increasing rate of deforestation, they had to migrate to other places in search of food. As these forest regions are being cut down, and are now turned into farmlands, these animals have no places to go, so it is very common now that we can spot a bear or a herd of elephants in the backyards of the houses which are close to the forest. Even there are instances where tigers hunt down people’s livestock, and even attack them. Since the forests are getting depleted, the balance of the ecosystem is disturbed, and in the worst case scenerio some species may even get extinct.

Secondly, logging of wood has resulted in climatic changes in many places. As in the case of the Amazon rainforest, the cutting down of these tropical rainforests have changed the rainfall patterns over these regions. Also, these forests are known for many valuable medicinal plants which were used by tribal people to cure many diseases. Now all these herbal plants are endangered because of human interventions. So now the government in very countries has made strict laws in order to protect their forest resources, and to pass it down to the future generations.

So to conclude, it is our responsibility to save our forest resources from being depleted and we should practice activities like afforestation to bring back the forest regions that were once lost.