In some countries there are women taking positions in male dominated occupations such as police officers and soldiers. Some people believe that women are not suited to such work. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, gender inequality is a hot topic of debate when it comes to pursuing their carrier. Despite this, today women in some countries designate many positions both in police and military that were once dominated by men. But some argue that women are not fit for these positions, which I disagree with. I believe, even females should be given equal representation in these job sectors and this essay will discuss why it is important.

Firstly, it is true that it is difficult for a woman to be in the army or a police department because of the physical hardship involved with the work. But this does not mean that they should be given less acceptance, because there are certain areas where women perform better than men. For instance, women are proactive thinkers and this helps in quick decision making while in case of any emergency situations. In addition to it, they also show good leadership quality that is necessary for leading a troop of soldiers or a squad of police officers. Therefore, it is important to give them a fair chance to all these departments.

Secondly, with the improvement in women rights and their educational backgrounds, they are now competent enough to enrol in these defence forces. If a woman is given a chance in the police department she can make sure that the law and order is strictly enforced which in turn reduces violence against women. Also, this will be a motivation to other women in the society to pursue their dream professions. Thus, they now have the right to seek any profession of their choice, and no one can judge them for that.

To conclude, although some think that women are not suitable for male dominated occupations such as police and soldiers, these days they have proven to be suitable enough for these roles. So, I feel that they should be given equal opportunity as men.