In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves.Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, sports programmes are aired on television regularly. Every day we have many choices for watching a different kind of sports through a sport-special channel such as ESPN. While it is believed by some people that this discourages the young from taking sports by themselves, I personally argue that this can be beneficial for young age people in many ways. This following essay will discuss in details about the given statement and conclude with the advantage of continuous coverage of sport on television.

To begin with, some people think that any sports programmes aired on television frequently may cause the youngsters less motivated to take sports for many reasons. Firstly, they claim that instead of taking part in sports, doing an exercise or join a sports club, young age people now choose sitting in front of a television for watching the match. Therefore it may affect their body fitness. Furthermore, due to the number of sports shows on television, it probably leads to the young age people become isolated. The youngsters prefer to spend their free time at home glued to their television rather than doing outdoor activities and socializing with others.

On the other hand, it can't be undeniable that continuous coverage of sport on television, on the contrary, motivated young people not only to enjoy watching the sport but also to take part on it. For example, teenagers who are fans of some soccer players might try to become a soccer athlete and keep practising to imitate the success of their role models. Moreover, by the variety of sports events which are provided by television now, it may lead young people to gain knowledge about some particular sport. Therefore, they can learn about how to play it and which strategies they can use in a match.

To sum up, even though some young people might get lazy to play sports but in my opinion, television should keep airing sports programme due to the benefits we can get by it.