Many people are working at home rather than in the workplace. Some people believe this will bring benefits to the workers and their families, but others suggest it will cause stress in the home. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Work from home option is an innovate policy by corporate companies which gives extra cushion for their employees. In my view, both working from home and working in the office has got it's own merits and demerits. I will discuss in the below section about both the sides.

Initially, work from home option came into existence for those people who were unable to visit the workplace due to natural calamities such as cyclones, earth quakes, employee's sickness, recovering from injuries but still can perform their daily work remotely. This concept was engineered by the corporate companies in order to extract work from their employers because of their inaccessibility to their offices. Lately, corporate companies brought changes to their HR policy in order to this provide this extra benefit to lift the morale of the employee by allowing them to stay with their family so as to get the work done easily. Workers can manage both their work and family at the same time. This option has really benefited both men and women in this technological world through internet, cloud computing, remote desktop connection, video conferencing facility, audio calling facility etc.

In particularly, women see it as a gift as they can take care of their children, home and office work simultaneously striking a healthy work life balance. Also, other factors can be considered like stress issues, unproductive time spent in traffic, water scarcity issues, better desk space utilization at office pushed the corporate companies to leverage on this option thereby reducing their investment in their assets and maintenance costs. However, the main problem with this option could be lack of discipline, lethargic, relaxation, less priority to work, more priority to personal work thereby set deadlines may not be met by the employees so as their employers too.

On the other hand, employees reaching their office brings in a lot of discipline in their work which is very crucial for any organization's performance. Employees cannot take any excuses for not meeting their deadlines and they will be able to concentrate completely on their work without any external disturbances. Employees can report to their immediate bosses if they are facing any difficulties in fulfilling their daily tasks which can be done face to face in a real time manner. People are readily available at our disposal in the company setting for issue resolution which gives an edge over work from home option. Any technological glitches if encountered at home, it may be difficult for employees to establish contact with their office resulting in either stoppage of work, delay of work thereby missing the deadlines. Such issues can be rectified at the office quite easily by the respective teams. Also, employees can learn about time management, work load management, develop inter personal skills, socialize with their colleagues to create friendship.

Technology has already dethroned the traditional practices. Companies need to think wisely in managing their work force and cannot stick to their outdated HR policies. With the above discussed points, i am of the view that working from home option should be seen an evolutionary change which can bring tremendous values for both employees and employers, thus creating a win win situation.