Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods To what extend do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal

Many people make the assumption that the production of more and more goods is a good things for all economies. Personally, I do concur with this idea to some extent, which means considering other aspects. In the sentences that follow, I will underline my viewpoint and provide pertinent instances.

Firstly, increasing production brings benefit to rich industrialists but that, in turn, they provide employment for other less wealthy people in the community. It is indeed valid that the more products we produce, the more likely the profits we get. So when a company expands the scale of production, they can gain profitability. And to do this, they need hire more labor. Secondly, undeveloped nations depend on the production of other countries when the supply is interrupted. When there was an emergency such outbreak of plague, covid 19 or any global warning, nations that do not produce enough cannot supply goods or materials for their society. For instance, ongoing climate change and Russia-Ukraine war pushed Africa to a food crisis because of the shortage of food and poverty. These global factors have caused devastating ripples across the globe. But this extreme hunger was hitting great swathes of Africa particularly hard.

However, such growth in production can have the opposite effect. Producing more goods means we need more resources. To some industries, if they don’t utilize these resources, they will create waste in manufacturing. Besides, when a country is in the mode of boosting market, it may often unaware of environmental soundness. More factories means more wastes and if such wastes cannot be managed carefully and properly, great havoc may occur such as air pollution, water pollution etc. For example, factories are one of the causes of India’s pollution problem. As of 2022, estimated that in Delhi, the population is 25 million and they have more than 3,000 to 4,000 factories that pollute the air.

In conclusion, I feel that a compromise position is the healthiest one – some economic growth should be encouraged as long as using resources effectively and considering that the production must be sustainable.