Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods.

To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

After the industrial revolution countries care more and more about being productive, and now they are compared to each other by the level of national production and export of commodities. Although it might be beneficial for country's economy, I believe that its disadvantages outweigh privileges.

First of all, manufacturing commodities needs raw materials, which usually are limited resources. In order to climb the production rate each country has two options, to mine and use its own existent resources, or to import from other lands. Each case eventually leads to overuse of global natural resources and damages the delicate balance of environment. Secondly, the great deal of goods which are being produced every year, as it can be seen in current years, must be sold to people, who sometimes do not actually need them. This complicated process includes advertisements which encourage people purchasing unnecessary, occasionally useless, stuff. As a result, individuals would be inspired to have a consuming culture, meaning work more to buy more, and their enthusiasm of owning goods would never fulfill.

Of course it should be borne in mind that growing overall productions generates government huge money, which is definitely advantageous. A wealthier state can improve country's infrastructures like roads, medical equipment, and educational and sport facilities, and consequently bring remarkably more welfare for its citizens. But if every government thinks that way, our planet would endure horrific disasters.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that in spite of some profitable outcomes earned due to increasing goods' production, the final outcomes would be unfavorable for humans and environment both. This is because the policy of unlimited production hurts earth, and also because it expands the culture of over-consuming between people.