Many people believe children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many advocate that children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. I totally agree with this because an early start leads to higher levels of proficiency and, children seldom feel the same level of humility that adults feel when learning a language.

Most importantly, if one wants to see a better outcome, one must start sooner. So, the earlier children begin to learn a new language the better the result will be. For example, in Taiwan children who started learning English at bi-lingual kindergartens are able to speak English very competently by the time they become teenagers. Therefore, an early start seems to yield positive results.

Second of all, young children are less afraid than older people to make mistakes when they are speaking a new language. Fear of humiliation of making a mistake is a huge barrier for older people in their efforts to speak freely. Children are less afraid of making grammatical mistakes because they are more likely to be at the same level as their peers and they feel learning a new language is a fun experience and mistakes are humorous.

In conclusion, I think that it is essential for children to begin learning a foreign language at an early age because the end result will be better, and their efforts to learn English will not be hampered by fear of failure. Therefore, I recommend that people in non-English speaking countries try their hardest to send their children to attend English classes as soon as possible.