Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree??

It is an inevitable true that a country’s growth mostly depends on consumption of how much the country has earned from its export sector & how much is the costings for importing. Achieving fulfillment in food has become one of the biggest unavoidable challenges for any nation. In this situation, some of the masses are suggesting in focusing more of producing foods rather than depending on importing the goods. From my perspective, I am strongly agreed with the statement.

There are some reasons why I believe a countryman should produce food for his/her own needs. One of the reasons is to keep the balance in every sectors development. For instance, if a country spends millions of dollars for importing the essential goods, it will not be able to invest equally for other sector such as health , education, housing, road-construction which will lead the countryman to suffer from various new issues. Second reason is to encounter the food safety for every civilian. This is the fundamental duty of a country to ensure the food supplies for its population. Third reason is that imported goods are quite expensive which is not affordable for every citizen. For example, Bangladesh imports chocolates, processed milk and so on which are high in nutrition but a huge number of people are not able to buy it.

On the other hand, I still believe, a country should import & store the goods which can’t cultivate because of land or geographical conditions. For example, during the corona virus pandemic, in Bangladesh, the imported fruits such as orange, apple, grapes etc were almost out of stock which lead to increase the price. If the country would store it properly, the balance would remain fine.

In the closing, I would like to suggest the authority to increase the experiment and research on the land to make possible every food cultivation in their home country & and import as little as possible. For that little portion of imported products, the country should allocate subsidy which leads to decrease the price and will make affordable for everyone.