Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and Import food as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As food production has become much-discussed issue, it is often said that government is supposed to spur local food productions to meet society’s eating needs and limit imported foods. I personally agree with the given statement, and explained more in this essay will the reasons be.

Perhaps, the primary reason is that to produce foods through local food companies could bring huge profit, particularly in a state having several agricultural industries, such as Indonesia, which could enhance the local agricultural productivity. As a result, it could lead prosperity to some local farmers, and could subsequently grow the national economic. Additionally, it is important for government to lessen imported foods, since it is undeniable fact that such foods are more affordable compared to the local foods. Thus, it would reduce the interest and sales of the local products. Of course, this condition will be an irony for the national economic circumstances. In addition, regarding the detrimental effect of importing foods, in particular imported fruits. Such fruits would likely harm the inhabitants' body, owing to the artificial preservatives involved. Because, this substance is used by importers in order to keep fruits fresh, as transporting food requires a long time to the targeted country.

It is widely accepted that importing foods could help a state in which people are facing certain foods shortage, which is impossible for them to produce their own foods. However, such drawback could be overcome by yielding the main crops suitable for the condition of that country.

Overall, it seems to me that to encourage local food productions and to limit imported foods deserve implementing due to the advantages that a country may gain, ranging from creating prosperity for local producers, increasing national economic growth, becoming a domestic market more competitive, to avoiding some harmful imported foods.