Many people believe that criminals should be imprisoned; others, however, say they should do unpaid work that is beneficial for the community. Discuss both view and your opinion.

Nowadays, the crime rate has increased significantly which had led to influx of criminal in the reformative homes and also in the state prisons. The same has led to an argument in which some assert that the criminal should be locked up whereas some hold a dissenting view and say the criminals should be made to serve the society without any pay. The essay will deal with both the sides followed by an opinion.

On the one hand, the criminals are considered to be inhumane people who pose danger to the society. Their acts speak for themselves and with the gravity of the offence that has been committed by them make them an element which has to be kept in isolation from the society. For instance, there are criminals who have committed offences which are of very serious in nature and as a result, they are kept in solitary confinement to warden off any possible issues in the jail premises itself. Thus, the criminals are dangerous elements of the society and are rightly kept away from the society to avoid any issue in the society.

On the other hand, some criminals who are convicted for petty offences should not be made to spend time and rather made to work for the society in their area of expertise. Moreover, in the modern society, there are many convictions for white collar crime which only affect a certain category of people and no life is endangered. These types of people should be allowed to work for the society to learn their lessons without being given any remuneration. For example, a stockbroker in New York was convicted by the Superior Court of New York and rather than being confined in the four walls were made to wear a leg tag to track all the time and was made to work for the government and received nothing in return. Therefore, the governments should use the petty offenders to serve a better purpose.

In conclusion, in my opinion, it can be said that it would be better if there is a unified system to make the offenders serve a better purpose by serving the society. The petty offenders should be made to serve the society who do not pose any risk and the high-risk offenders should be put in solitary confinement to establish a safe environment in the jail and also in the society.