Since time immemorial, across the globe students are assessed and promoted to the next classes based on their examination results. Generally, examinations are conducted in a variety of forms including written, oral, etc. While a significant majority are of the opinion that pen and paper is the best method to assess tutees, others are claiming that it is the not perfect way to test them. In my opinion, there are other alternatives to be considered apart from written assessments.

On one hand, the educational authorities are considering the prior one because of a couple of reasons. The first thing to be highlighted is that time management. To elaborate this, Children would be trained to answer as many as questions in a given time frame and this would help them to manage their time effectively, as a result, they would incorporate time management skills in their daily routine and be punctual. In addition to this, these forms of assessment would give them a chance to recollect what they have studied prior to the test. Thus, it would be a great opportunity to remember and organize their writings in the answer paper.

However, educational experts are claiming that there are other forms of examinations should be considered apart from the prior. The first and foremost point is related to Oral assessment. By using this exam mode, the pupil would not only able to reduce the fear of public speaking but also improve the fluency of talking along with communication skills. Therefore, this makes them be more employable in the future. It is also worth mentioning that other form of exam that is Online assessment. Due to technological advancements, nowadays, a significant proportion of educational establishments are considering this and this could be more effective in terms of cost and paper waste.

Another point to be added is examining practical knowledge, It is a perfect opportunity of testing their both theoretical and practical knowledge. Moreover, some of the students unable to write can perform excellently in these. There would improve not only cognitive development but also creates a sophisticated platform to broaden their horizons.

In summary, I think although paper and pen based has some advantages such as time management and organizing answers, the other methods including Oral and Online exams are comparatively advantageous.