Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement

What is your view of examinations?

Examinations are a popular way to evaluate students’ abilities all over the world. However, many people say that formal written examinations are not the best method of assessing students’ performance. In my opinion, besides traditional examinations, there are many other methods to assess educational result.

Firstly, formal examinations include a range of tasks which are useful to test the students’ knowledge such as questions, assignments etc. Students who perform well in the examinations usually have a good understanding about what they learnt. The drawbacks of formal written exams are that they have a short time limit, which generally induces anxiety for students, and they cannot evaluate other abilities of students such as critical thinking skill, verbal expression ability… The fact is there are many students, who do very well during normal studying, have low marks on exams because they are anxious or they are not good at writing. In contrast, some students get high scores on exams just because they are good at rote learning, they forget everything they learnt right after the exams. Thus, “pen and paper” exams are not the best way to evaluate students’ abilities.

I think the best way to assess educational achievement is combining written exam with other testing methods, for example: presentation, personal projects…With these methods, students could perform their knowledge in a less nervous environment and teachers could evaluate other abilities of students. However, it is easy to cheat on some tasks, students might copy other people’s result from the Internet or ask their parents for help instead of finishing the projects by their own.

In conclusion, formal examinations are not the only way to show the result of all studying progress. Teachers need to observe their students’ performance during all the course and have many standards to evaluate their abilities.