Many people believe that formal “pen and paper" examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

What is your view of examinations?

Since time immemorial, conventional “pen and paper” tests are often believed to be the best means of judging educational accomplishment. In my opinion, examinations have both advantages as well as disadvantages, and “pen and paper” examinations are not the best way to assess students’ achievement.

It goes without saying that examinations have many benefits. Firstly, taking a test helps educators assess the study process of the learners. Secondly, it boosts students’ motivation to endeavour to learn because they want to ace the test and get good marks. Furthermore, doing the exam is a way for them to emulate so that in real life later on, they could deal with the incessant competition. However, these exams also have drawbacks. Recently, students have stresses out as parents, tutors, eventually themselves put too much pressure on them, mainly related to these examinations. As a result, not only their learning outcome but also their mental health will downfall.

Besides conservative “pen and paper” tests, there are a number of methods of measuring educational achievement such as: oral test, working in groups or writing a report are getting common nowadays. These methods could help teachers get an overview of pupils’ capacity. In addition, if we take a formal “pen and paper” test in some subjects which are more of practical skills, for example: Information technology or Physical education, it will not be practical. Therefore, I believe that “pen and paper” assessment is not the best means of measuring educational attainment.

In conclusion, in spite of the aforementioned disadvantage, “pen and paper” examinations are now thought to be the most prevalent kind of testing due to the benefits. Even so, I think that they are not the best way to judge pupils’ study process.