Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, convenience foods are increasingly widespread and it is eventually thought to take the place of customary foods and ways of food preparation. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view as I will give my two reasons below.

On the one hand, in many countries, especially in developed countries, people have to work full-time, sometimes work overtime to deal with a huge workload. Due to this issue, convenience foods such as: instant noodles, snacks or soft drinks will be chosen in order to save their time and easily satisfy their hunger. Not only workers but also students, have preferred convenience foods recently. The same as workers, most of the students are busy with assignments, some of them also work part-time to earn money hence they do not have enough time to prepare a slap-up meal and processed foods will be the best option.

On the other hand, the number of single-adult households is increasing sharply. Since they live alone, cooking is unnecessary, instead of cooking, dining out, eating ready meals or pre-packaged meals are preferred. In the past, extended families are common so cooking was seen as a chance to gather family members together. However, in today’s world, nuclear families or single-parent families are the norm of the society, therefore, cooking is not as ubiquitous as in the past.

To conclude, because of the increase of people working full-time as well as the number of single-parent families is rising, convenience foods will undoubtedly become common. I also believe that this kind of food will be a replacement for traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation in the near future.