Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The consumption of convenience foods is predicted to be more populated and this trend will replace the way people cook their food as well as traditional foods. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement. People are considering what they eat more than before and the taste of traditional foods cannot be found in processed food.

Firstly, traditional foods allow people to tailor and be creative in the way they cook, which may not be possible with ready-made foods. There is a fixed ingredient recipe and the process of making convenience foods is the same. However, people often use fresh ingredients to cook, and they also change ingredients based on their regional characteristics or hobbies. For example, there is a cake in Vietnam, which is called Banh Xeo. People in different regions in Vietnam make it in different ways. In the center of Vietnam, the cake is small and they often eat it with slices of meat,shrimp, and lettuce. Meanwhile, in the south of Vietnam, people usually make a bigger cake and eat it with various ingredients like shrimp, duck, meat, squid, snail, and up to ten types of vegetables.

Secondly, people are more mindful of their food choices than before. They prefer homemade food to processed foods. There are many concerns about the nutrition or even the preservatives commonly found in convenience foods. Manufacturers need to consider the shelf-life of the foods so that there are many preservatives added to ready-made foods to keep their shelf-life longer. Moreover, looking at the ingredients in the container of the foods, there is more food flavoring used than fresh ingredients. In my case, I bought a bowl of instant soup, which is advertised as containing shrimp, the amount of shrimp flavor is more than that of shrimp.

To conclude, I strongly believe that consuming convenience foods cannot become the most popular trend and they cannot replace traditional foods.