Many people believe that the increased presence of violence in films and television these days
is responsible for the rising incidents of violent crimes among youths in society. They argue
that governments have a duty to control the media so as to reduce this phenomenon. Do you
agree with this argument?
Many are of the opinion that the rise in crime rates is attributable to the increase in violence in
movies and television programs. Some argue that governments should impose controls upon
the media in order to alleviate this problem. In my opinion, I agree that the media should be
controlled to a certain extent and that youngsters should only have access to beneficial and educational multimedia.
The media tends to have an extremely strong influence on its consumers, especially the younger
ones; it can affect how people think and what they believe. also, it may lead to undesirable and,
sometimes, disastrous behaviors ranging from bad manners to serious crimes; this is because
when youngsters are repeatedly exposed to such behaviors, they tend to view them as normal
and acceptable. also, often, criminals are glorified in films which leads children and teenagers to
admire and, thus, mimic them. Therefore, authorities should manage what media content
people are exposed to, which can be achieved in several ways. First, they can penalize parents
who are negligent about what their children watch and read. also, they should oblige schools to
extensively educate children about how harmful the sinful and criminal acts that are portrayed
in the media are as well as guide them about what to watch and do instead. Moreover, they
need to enforce restrictions on media outlets including television channels and social media
platforms limiting the appearance of violent content, especially to younger audiences.
In conclusion, governments, parents, schools, and media companies should play a role in
ensuring that the youth is not exposed to harmful content that can lead to crimes and
misbehaviors.