Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment.

How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people blame social problems such as drug addiction, unemployment for causing violence in society while others associate the violent scenes in movies with this matter. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the media is the main factor leading to the booming of social violence.

Firstly, the levels of violence in films accelerate and so does the young's exposure to it. Children learn by observing and modeling adults, so if a child watching too many violent movies, he will imitate that negative behavior. As a result, he will develop violent actions, which then leads to violence in society.

Secondly, movies tend to encourage violence by impending that the characters who are violent are attractive. The viewers who watch these movies may then be violent for the impression given by the media. Some people claim that it is not the media but parents that make the children aggressive. I still strongly blame the movies for causing such violence in both children and society.

Thirdly, the development of the internet means movies can be transmitted everywhere, which enables violent movies to be viewed worldwide. It is obvious that the number of people exposed to aggressive scenes is increasing, which causes the level of violence in each country to rise sharply.

In conclusion, although the media is not the only element that increases the rate of violence in society, the negative effects its have on children, the unrealistic way it is shown, and the global nature of the media net all contribute to the rising of the social violence.