Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What solutions can be sought to change this negative altitude?

It is often believed that international tourism has an adverse effect on a country. The people who have this belief put forward several arguments in favor of this. However, steps should be taken to reverse such false beliefs.

Those who are not in favor of cross-country tourism claim on the grounds of increased pollution, threat to national security, fear of infection disease, as well as for cultural reasons. First of all more tourists to the country would raise the demand for more transport, which in turn would lead to more air contamination. Additionally, an influx of tourists will increase crimes such as terrorism. drug trafficking and even human traffic. Also the chances of transmitting infectious diseases such as Ebola, Swine flu and AIDS increase multifold.

Although, the above mentioned arguments are causes for concern, one should not undermine the many benefits of touristy such as vast economical progress. People of a country should be made aware of the many advantages of entertaining holiday makers. The argues should be remained of the immense benefits that hospitality and travel sectors enjoy because of foreign visitors should not be forgotten. These are the sectors which provide maximum employment to the locals. Big as well as small businesses will get a boost as in the case of ethnic fabric, jewelry and other hand crafted items. Further more, infrastructure of country will get a face-lift in the form of improved roads, public transport and maintenance of historical places. As for the fears expressed by critics, government assurance to combat the drawbacks will put their minds at ease.

To conclude, although there is criticism against global tourism, this way of thinking can be converted by spreading awareness on its beneficial aspects.